What is the PSAT?

    The PSAT/NMSQT (National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test) is a standardized test that focuses on knowledge and skills for college and career readiness.

    Who takes it?

    All sophomores. Oregon requires that all districts offer the PSAT to all 10th graders.

    What does it measure?

    The PSAT measures student academic achievement and their preparedness for the SAT and college and career. The test measures reading, writing and language, and math.

    When is it administered?

    October. The College Board determines what date the test is given.

     View the district testing calendar for the current year's testing windows.  

    How is it administered?

    The test is taken on paper and takes approximately 3 hours to complete.

    How are the results used?

    PSAT results:

    • Provides students and educators with the chance to check in on progress toward college and career readiness and success.
    • Serve as an excellent way for students to preview and practice for the SAT.
    • Can be used to demonstrate Essential Skills proficiency by meeting ODE defined cut scores.
    • May qualify 11th grade students for competition in the National Merit Scholarship Program. (for NMSQT, students must take the PSAT as a junior.
    • Students receive a score report at school with a unique code to access the reports online.

    Who requires it?

    All 10th grade students are given the opportunity to take the PSAT as required by the Oregon Department of Education.

    What if I want to know more about this assessment?

    I'm a parent/guardian. Who do I contact with questions about this assessment?

    Contact Testing Help if you have questions about your 10th grade student taking the PSAT.