• Franklin boys soccer team makes history by winning state championship

    Español| Tiếng Việt| 中文| Soomaali| Русский

    Franklin beat Summit 2-1 in overtime at Hillsboro Stadium. (Photos by Beth Conyers)

    The Franklin High School boys soccer team made history Saturday, winning a state championship for the first time in program history, with a 2-1 overtime win over Summit in the Class 6A final at Hillsboro Stadium.

    Junior midfielder Andrew Reed scored the winning goal on a header with 6 minutes, 42 seconds left in the second overtime, on a deftly-placed left-footed cross from junior Jackson Kincaid-Osborn.

    The Lightning won the state title a week after the Franklin boys cross country team won the Class 6A championship. Before that, the last Franklin state team title in any sport came in 1959, by the boys basketball team. Franklin has won three other state titles, in boys basketball in 1921 and 1956, and boys track and field in 1929.

    Click below to see photo sets from:

    Franklin became the third Portland Interscholastic League team to win the state boys soccer title, joining Grant in 2008 and Lincoln in 2015. The Lightning won despite being a seeming underdog, seeded No. 14 in the Oregon School Activities Association bracket, which is determined by a computer ranking. Franklin became the lowest seed to win the 6A boys soccer title since the OSAA switched to a computer system in 2013.

    The Lightning’s lower seeding came despite the fact that they were co-champions with Lincoln in the PIL, with a 5-0-2 league record. In the state playoffs, Franklin beat three fellow PIL teams, including Lincoln and Grant, the two teams they tied with during league play. Franklin got to the championship game by beating Cleveland 2-1 in overtime in the semifinals.

    In the final against Summit, the Lightning took a 1-0 lead 8:31 into the game when junior Riley Reisner kicked in a rebound from 5 yards out. Summit tied the game with 7:33 left in regulation. Senior goalkeeper Gael Salas-Lara earned chants of “M-V-P!” from the Franklin student section as he made seven saves.

    Franklin's team roster:

    Gael Salas-Lara, senior goalkeeper
    Kai Fontenot, junior forward
    Edwin Balbuena, junior defender
    Riley Reisner, junior defender
    Henry Walker, senior defender
    Felix Moren, senior defender
    Eli Pearson, senior midfielder
    Andrew Reed, junior midfielder
    Simon Eckel, senior defender
    Finn Rueegger, senior forward
    Eduardo Penuelas, junior defender

    Nick Cox, junior defender
    Darren Green, sophomore midfielder
    Jackson Kincaid-Osborn, junior forward
    Jonah Wald, junior midfielder
    Larry Delgado-Lopez, sophomore forward
    Angel Mejia-Flores, sophomore midfielder
    Sebastian Snover-Pattie, junior defender
    Vincent Rose, junior defender
    Adam Moar, junior goalkeeper
    Will Denniston, sophomore defender
    Caden Davis, sophomore forward

    Ty Kovatch is Franklin’s head coach. The assistant coaches are Scott Milham, Brian Baxter, Will Justice and Jesse Kirkpatrick.

    The winning goal: