Hosford Middle School

Friendship · Learning · Commitment

2303 SE 28th PlacePortland, OR 97214Ph (503) 916-5640Fx (503) 916-2637

Ph Fx

Ph Fx

Hosford News

View All
  • Hosford Website Still Being Updated

    Hello Hosford Families! I am still updating teacher pages and academic information pages, but hope to have these up and running in the next week. Please be patient and stay tuned! I'll post an update when we have everything set! Happy Back To School 2017-18!
    Mrs. Suydam (Hosford Tech Assistant)
     under construction
  • H.E.A.T. Registration Open

    Fall Hosford HEAT classes are posted and open for registration!
    HEAT offers before and after school classes and activities that are fun, enriching and engaging. 
    Fall classes include
    • Fencing
    • Explorations in Theatre
    • Pinata Intensive
    • Mathquest
    • Japanese
    • Coding Club
    • Stress-Less Morning Yoga
    • Lego Robotics- FULL
    • Drawing
    • Hosford Speech & Debate Team
    • Cooking- FULL
    • Archeology
    • Chess Club
    • Yearbook Club
    • Improv Club
    • Homework Club
    Full course listings and registration online at http://app.mainstreetsites.com/dmn2301/classes.htm
    Paper registration forms available outside the Hosford Main office
    *scholarships and free/reduced rates available*
  • Welcome Assistant Principal Amy Slaughter

    Dear Hosford Community:

    I am very pleased to welcome Amy Slaughter as our new Assistant Principal. In selecting the right match to support Hosford students and families, I was excited to be able to bring on a strong instructional leader with experience at both the middle school and high school levels. Amy has significant experience in supporting math instruction and racial equity work, and as the parent of two PPS students, she believes deeply in the importance of making strong neighborhood public education accessible for all students.

    Amy started her teaching career as a middle school science teacher in Baltimore, Maryland. After moving to Portland in 2003, she worked for two years at St. Andrew Nativity School in NE Portland as a teacher and a graduate support coordinator. Amy has held multiple teaching and leadership positions in Portland Public Schools over the past 12 years. She taught Advanced Mathematics at Benson Polytechnic High School, and developed the TechGeometry course, in which students contextualize geometry while building houses for the homeless. During this time, she also worked with PPS high school students teaching math through Portland Evening and Summer Scholars. After nine years at Benson, Amy served as an Advanced Math Teacher on Special Assignment while also supporting proficiency grading and Synergy alignment at the district level.  Last school year, she served as the Instructional Specialist for Franklin High School, and helped lead teams that supported students through credit recovery, tiered intervention and teacher professional development. 

    Amy has held a variety of teacher leader roles, and has been asked to serve on several panels for math education at the state level. She has also held the role of Vice Principal for the LEAP into 9th grade programs for both Jefferson and Franklin High Schools. 

    Amy’s values align closely with Hosford’s core values of Friendship, Learning, and Commitment. She believes that it is essential to provide both high expectations and high support for all students, and that strong relationships are key to helping students develop into their best selves. Throughout her career, Amy has consistently advocated for students of color and actively worked to close the racial opportunity gap. She is excited to meet the students, families and staff of Hosford, and to work together to create a school community where each student thrives. 

    Please join me in welcoming Amy to the Hosford community.


    Kristyn Westphal, Principal

    Ms. Slaughter
  • Hosford Middle School is Rebranding

    Dear Hosford Families:

    For the last two years, we at Hosford Middle School have used the motto "Courage-College-Community" to encapsulate what we are about. This motto wasn't jointly created; it was a vision I set based on the existing longer Hosford mission statement so that we could immediately get down to the work of making Hosford a better, more welcoming place. The plan was always to then work with the community to develop a motto that reflected community values. While I loved the C-C-C framing, it didn't quite resonate with all of our middle schoolers. 

  • School Supply List

    The online school supply order opportunity has ended, but to guide your purchase of your student's supplies, please click on the links below:
    School Supply Lists for 2017-18:

Principal's List and Honor Roll

District News

View All