• Coronavirus update: Schools will be closed through April 28

    Under an executive order from Oregon Gov. Kate Brown in response to the coronavirus pandemic, Portland Public Schools and other districts in Oregon will be closed through April 28 More information and updates

    Comments (-1)

Portland Evening and Summer Scholars

A Credit Recovery Program

546 Northeast 12th AvenuePortland, OR 97232Ph (503) 916-5720Fx (503) 916-2691

Ph Fx

Ph Fx

Program News

View All
  • 2019/2020 Evening Scholars

    Portland Evening Scholars is resuming classes online beginning the week of April 6, 2020.  All of our teachers have been reaching out to their Evening Scholars students to check in, establish a ‘virtual connection’, and to discuss what the new format of teaching will look like for their class.  See below for a list of our staff, their email addresses, and their ‘office hours’. 

    If your student has not heard from their teacher, please have them check their PPS email account and please remind them that PPS has migrated all email over to Gmail.  Again, all PPS email accounts need to be accessed via Gmail; students can log in using their PPS userID and password.  Any student registered for a PPS class has been provided their own PPS email account.  If your student does not know their PPS email account, please have them communicate to their teacher (listed below) to establish the connection prior to classes starting up again. 

    Every teacher is holding office hours for 1.5 hours on the same night their class was originally offered.  This is a time for students to be online and able to video conference with their teacher, receive direct instruction, and to receive new assignments. 

    Important:  If your student has not heard from their teacher yet, the two things they must do are:

    1.       Check their PPS email account via Gmail.

    2.       Reach out to their teacher to gain insight into how class will be offered.

    We all hope you and your families are staying healthy and are as minimally impacted by this current pandemic as possible.  Our staff are looking forward to supporting their students and doing what they can to get our education system back to some form of normal and routine.  This is a time for all of us to extend extra patience and support for each other as we are all learning how to live life a bit differently. 

     Essential Skills classes are canceled for the semester. 

    Take care and thank you for your support,

    The Evening Scholars Staff

     

     

    STAFF NAME

    EMAIL ADDRESS

    ONLINE AVAILABILITY

    Amundson, David

    damundson@pps.net

    Thur, 5-6:30 pm

    Andrews, Athena

    aandrews@pps.net

    Wed, 6-7:30 pm

    Armstrong, Scott

    sarmstro@pps.net

    Available to assist if needed

    Binion-Jimenez, Cheryl

    cbinionjimenez@pps.net

    Tue,Wed,Thur: 3:30-5 pm

    Boyer, Matt

    mboyer@pps.net

     Mon,Wed,Thur: 5:00 - 6:30 pm

    Bryan, David

    dbryan@pps.net

    Tue,Wed,Thur: 6:30-8 pm

    Byers, Alex

    abyers@pps.net

    Tues, 6-7:30 pm

    Da Rosa, Jeremy

    jdarosa@pps.net

    Tue,Wed: 5-8 pm

    Dennis, Sharde

    sdennis@pps.net

    Tue,Wed: 3:30-5 pm

    Favali, Kathryn

    kfavali@pps.net

    Tue,Wed: 5-6:30 pm

    Flynn, Jennifer

    jflynn@pps.net

    Tues, 6-7:30 pm

    Gonrowski, Drew

    dgonrowski@pps.net

    Thur, 5-6:30 pm

    Grasle, Sadie

    sgrasle@pps.net

    Tue, 6-7:30 pm

    Gunn, Sean

    sgunn@pps.net

    Tue, Thur:  5:00-6:30 pm

    Gutierrez, Edward

    edgutierrez@pps.net

    Thur, 6-7:30 pm

    Henning, Holly

    hhenning@pps.net

    Tue,Wed,Thur: 5-6:30 pm

    Hoang, Michael

    mhoang2@pps.net

    Wed, 5-6:30 pm

    Johnson, Irma

    ijohnson@pps.net

    Tue,Wed,Thur: 5-6:30 pm

    Kennybrew, Melissa

    mkennybrew@pps.net

    Tue, Thur:  5:00-6:30 pm

    King, Andrew

    aking2@pps.net

    Thur, 5-6:30 pm

    Koenig, Misty

    mkoenig@pps.net

    Wed, 6-7:30 pm

    Malan-Gonzalez, Sylvia

    smalangonzalez@pps.net

    Tue, Wed:  5:00-6:30 pm

    Mayo, Alex

    amayo@pps.net

    Tue,Wed,Thur: 5-6:30 pm

    Peate, Robert

    rpeate@pps.net

    Wed, 5-6:30 pm

    Potter, Kyle

    kpotter@pps.net

    Tue, 5-6:30 pm

    Rodriguez, Angelina

    arodriguez5@pps.net

    Tue, Thur: 6-7:30 pm

    Santa Cruz, Valeria

    vsantacruz@pps.net

    Wed, Thur: 5-6:30 pm

    Satoorian, Stephanie

    ssatoorian@pps.net

    Wed, 5-6:30 pm

    Shiryayev, David

    dshiryayev@pps.net

    Tue, Thur: 5-6:30 pm

    Silkey, Ami

    asilkey@pps.net

    Tue, Wed, Thur: 6-7:30 pm

    Smith, Deb

    dsmith4@pps.net

     

    Studt, Ryan

    rstudt@pps.net

    Tue: 5-6:30 pm

    Trinh, Hung

    htrinh@pps.net

     

    vander Salm, Inge

    ivandersalm@pps.net

    Tue: 5-6:30 pm

    Wagner, Kim

    kwagner@pps.net

    Tue: 6:30-8:00 pm

    Washington, Andre

    awashing@pps.net

    Wed, Thur: 5-6:30 pm

    Wilson, Lefred

    lwilson5@pps.net

    Tue, Wed: 5-6:30 pm

     

     

     
     
    Spring 2020 Evening Scholars

     February 18 – May 28, 2020

    Nightly:  5:00 – 8:15pm

     

    Tentative 2020 Summer Scholars dates:

    Session 1:  June 22 - July 9

    Session 2:  July 13 - July 29

    daily class time:  8:30 - 12:15pm

     

     

    Registration process:  Students must be pre-registered for specific courses by their high school counselor.  Pre-registration begins January 28th.  

    Pre-registration and registration are not a guarantee of enrollment into a class due to our prioritization of students we serve.  We will continue to enroll students through February 14th, which may result in lower prioritized students being bumped from a class.  

    Enrollment Prioritization: 
    Our prioritization process uses the student’s current grade level and is as follows:

    1.   PPS Seniors

    2.   PPS Juniors - credit recovery

    3.   PPS Sophomores - credit recovery

    4.   PPS Freshmen - credit recovery

    5.   PPS students - initial credit (only if there is room in a class)

    6.   out-of-district students - only if there is room

    Please contact our office with any questions regarding our Evening or Summer Scholars program:  (503)916-5720. 

     

    Spring 2020 Evening Scholars Calendar

    January 28:               Registration is open.  Students must meet with their high school counselors.

    February 18:             Classes begin.

    March 23 – 27:         Spring Break - no classes.

    April 6:                        Progress reports posted to Synergy

    April 7 - 9:                  Tutorial Week – students with A’s and B’s have optional attendance. Everyone else is required.

    April 16:                      No Class – Benson Tech Show

    May 18 – 20:             Final class for Mon, Tues, and Wed  (13 classes each)

    May 28:                      Final class for Thursday  (13 classes)

     


    Tutoring

    Tutoring occurs before and after class in the library and counseling center, and during class in classrooms where teachers have requested extra help in their classrooms. Tutoring can be requested via our website under the “Program Info” tab.

    ESL 

     Tuesday through Thursday ESL teachers will support ESL students in their classes.

    TriMet

    During Summer Scholars, bus passes will be provided for students who take public transportation for them to use the following day.

    Meal Service

    We have meal service at Summer Scholars for our students free of charge. Breakfast and/or lunch are served before or after class. Please note that proof of free/reduced meals eligibility is not required. All meals served to students during Evening and Summer Scholars are free of charge.

     

      

    Portland Evening and Summer Scholars

    A Credit Recovery Program

    546 NE 12th Ave, Portland, OR  97232

    Office:  (503) 916-5720   Fax:  (503) 916-2691

     

    Office hours (approx):

    September – June:  10:00 AM – 8:00 PM, Mon – Thur

    June – August:  8:00 AM – 3:00 PM, Mon – Fri

     

Principal's Message


  • Welcome to Portland Evening Scholars!

    We are looking forward to a great year as we continue to prepare to support Portland students in their journey towards graduation. 

    We will be offering approximately 35 course sections across 4 nights each week for the duration of our two 14 week semesters and we will hire approximately 55 staff to make this happen. 

    We will provide highly qualified teachers and tutors to assist our students with their academics and we are very excited to be partnering with Portland Public School’s Virtual Scholars program where some courses will be offered online. 

    Our staff is dedicated in the work they do and they show this every night by unconditionally welcoming their students into the classrooms and providing them a safe place to learn.  We are on a compacted calendar with a lot to cover in a shorter amount of time so we do stress the importance of maintaining a safe and respectful learning environment.   

    Our program is an NCAA approved program and our teachers follow Portland Public School’s curriculum calendars for the subjects they teach. 

    If there is anything we can help you with or answer any questions, do not hesitate to contact us. 

     

    Thank you and welcome back to school, Portland!

     

    Mr. David Holm 

    Program Administrator

District News

View All
CLOSE
CLOSE