Winterhaven School

A Science, Technology and Math
focus option K-8 school

3830 SE 14th AvePortland, OR 97202Ph 503-916-6200Fx 503-916-2614

Ph Fx

Ph Fx

Winterhaven News

View All
  • 2023-24 FOCUS OPTION K-5 LOTTERY INFORMATION

    The 2023-24 Focus Option K-5 Lottery window is opening soon!
    The Elementary School (grades K-5) Lottery window will be opening on February 15, 2023 and closing on March 17, 2023.  The Middle School (grades 6-8) Lottery window closed in December.  If you have questions about submitting a petition to PPS for grades 6-8, please click here 
    We will be holding informational meetings for the Elementary School (grades K-5) Lottery in March.  You are not required to attend informational meetings to apply to Winterhaven, but attendance is strongly recommended.
    Here are the dates and times for the Elementary School (grades K-5) lottery informational meetings:
    Thursday, March 2 - 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm
    Thursday, March 9 - 3:30 pm to 4:30 pm
    If you are not able to attend our informational meetings, please take a look at our presentation to learn more about our school - Winterhaven Elementary School Presentation
    To apply to Winterhaven, applicants need to complete the Enrollment and Transfer's Focus Option Lottery Application.  This application is online and can be found here: https://www.pps.net/Page/2343
    The Enrollment and Transfer website contains great information for families interested in applying to a focus option school.  We encourage families to read through this information and if they have questions, please contact our main office - 503-916-6200.
  • Winterhaven News

    Friday, February 10 - Middle School Dance - 3:15 pm to 5 pm
    Friday, February 17 - No School - Teacher Professional Development Day
    Monday, February 20 - No School - President's Day
    Monday, March 27-Friday, March 31 - No School - Spring Break
    Friday, April 7 - MAC Fun Run 
    Monday, April 10 - No School - Teacher Planning Day
    Sunday, May 14-Friday, May 19 - 6th graders to Outdoor School
    Friday, May 19 - School Carnival - 5 pm to 8 pm
    Friday, May 26 - Field of Fun - 1 pm to 3 pm
    Monday, May 29 - No School - Memorial Day
    Friday, June 2 - Middle School Dance - 3:15 pm to 5 pm
    Friday, June 9 - 8th graders to Oaks Park
    Monday, June 12 - School Picnic - 10:30 am to 3 pm
    Monday, June 12 - 8th grade promotion - 6 pm to 7 pm
    Tuesday, June 13 - Last Day of School
     
     

District News

View All

Principal's
Message

  • Welcome to Winterhaven!  Winterhaven is a Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts and Math (STEAM) focus option school.  We have a diverse learning environment in which its members are committed to meeting the educational, social, emotional and physical needs of all students in accordance with current practices, regardless of background or ability. This environment will stress academic excellence in a context of cultural enrichment and competency as well as community involvement. All stakeholders - students, staff and community - will feel valued and involved in the learning process.

    Sincerely,

     

    Mark Sandilands, Principal

     

    msandila@pps.net

Counselor News

CLOSE
CLOSE