• Attendance Matters

    Contact Us:

    Email - clevelandattend@pps.net  or call 503-916-5126 to report an absence.

    Attendance Office -  Meredith VandenBerg - mvandenberg@pps.net - 503-916-5120 x75005

    Attendance Administrator - Alaina Langdahl - alangdahl@pps.net - 503-916-5120 x75001 - 971-346-6609 (c)

     

    Student Attendance Policy:

    Oregon law requires parents/guardians to see that children between the ages of 7 and 18 years old attend school regularly. It is the legal responsibility of the parent to have their children in school and ensure the student attends school regularly and in a timely manner (Reference: ORS 339.010-339.020). This responsibility lies with the student as well, because students are expected to attend all classes to the best of their ability, both daily and on time.

     

    Criteria to Excuse Absences from School:

    Only absences for student sickness, appointments, religious holidays, family emergencies, or death in the family are considered excused.

      

    Procedures to Report a Student's Absence:

    An email (Clevelandattend@pps.net ) or phone call (503-916-5126) is required to be sent by a parent or guardian for any tardiness or absence within three (3) days. When you notify the school regarding the absence, please indicate the following information:

    • Date 
    • Student full name
    • Reason for the absence
    • Date(s) of the absence

     

     Late Arrival

    When students arrive late to school, they will sign-in with a QR code that is posted in every classroom. If students do not have a phone to scan the QR code, they should report to the Attendance Office to use the paper sign-in. 

     

    Mid-Day Check In/Out

    When leaving any time during the school day, all students need to sign-out in the attendance office. For this to be excused, a parent or guardian must call/email the attendance office. If a student is leaving and returning during the school day, they need to sign-out/in at the attendance office. 

     

    Automated Absence Notification System

    Automated phone calls are sent out twice each day, at 1pm and 5pm. Please note that teachers have all day to correct attendance and any morning absences may get corrected within the school day. If your student believes there is an error in attendance, please have your student go first to the classroom teacher to clear up the absence.

     

    10-Day Withdrawal Process:

    Any absences (excused or unexcused) exceeding 10 consecutive school days require schools to withdraw students and remove them from enrollment; per State of Oregon Compulsory Attendance
    statues ORS 339.010. To re-enroll, families will need to provide two proofs of address and the student will need to complete a re-entry questionnaire, meet with a Vice Principal and the student's counselor.

    Understanding Isolation and Quarantine for COVID-19

     

    Isolation (COVID-19 positive) Policy:

    PPS is aligning with MESD and Multnomah County and will utilize the "5 & 5" that Dr. Ann Loeffler shared last week.

    COVID-19 positive individuals are instructed to isolate at home for five (5) days after symptom onset or test specimen collected, if asymptomatic. Following this isolation period, individuals may return to school or work but need to diligently mask on day six (6) for an additional five (5) days, provided they are fever free for 24 hours without fever reducing medication and other symptoms are improving.

    Update to Quarantine (COVID-19 exposed) Policy:

    If you develop symptoms at any time, regardless of vaccination status, stay home. For more details, including requirements for anyone who tests positive, please see Multnomah County’s quarantine chart.

    Under guidelines set by Multnomah County, those who are not up to date on their vaccines will now be required to quarantine at home for five days after a close contact, a reduction from the 10 days that were previously required. Anyone, regardless of vaccine status, who has a close contact (15 minutes or longer within 6 feet of someone who has COVID-19) should get a COVID-19 test after five days, if possible.

    PPS no longer requires those who have received all the vaccinations for which they are eligible (for adults, this includes booster shots) to quarantine at home if they were in close contact with someone who has COVID-19, as long as they remain free of symptoms (see a list of COVID-10 symptoms).

    These new guidelines have been implemented by Multnomah County and have been adopted by PPS and the other six school districts in the Multnomah Education Service District. They have gone into effect starting January 11; anyone who had a close contact before January 10 should follow the previous guidelines that required a 10-day quarantine

    If a student is quarantining or is isolating due to being Covid positive, the student is eligible for the work completion process. The WC process means that the student may submit work to his/her/they teachers throughout the absences. When the teachers receive work, they will inform the attendance office, and that work submission will count as attending a class. This process ensures that a student who has been Covid positive will not be unenrolled from Cleveland due to 10 consecutive days of absences.