Participation in the IB Program

  • The IB Diploma

    The IB Diploma Programme has many components and requirements. Below is an overview of the mechanics and some examples of how a student might structure their IB experience at Lincoln.  We also offer freshman, sophomore and junior information nights.


    The IB Curriculum is divided into six subject areas:


    Group 1:  Language A: English 

    Group 2:  Language B:  Language Acquisition 

    Group 3:  Individuals and Societies 

    Group 4:  Sciences 

    Group 5:  Mathematics

    Group 6:  The Arts or an IB Elective chosen from groups 2-4.


    There are course offerings in each group and those courses are divided into HL (higher level) and SL (standard level) designations.  In order to meet the requirements of the IB Diploma, students must take one course in each group and must select at least three but no more than four HL and two or three SL courses. The majority of these IB courses are taken during their junior year and senior year.  All Group 1, 2, 4 and 5 courses take two years to complete.  There are one year options in groups 3 and 6.


    The IB Diploma also requires students to sit for an exam in each of the six subject areas.  Students can only take exams for courses in which they are enrolled.  Students may take HL and SL exams during their senior year. Students can take up to two SL exams during their junior year.  If an IB subject is completed prior to junior year, students will not be able to take the exam.


    Below is an overview of the course offerings at Lincoln and the HL and SL options that are available to students.

    IB Course Offerings at Lincoln


    Students self-select into the IB Diploma Programme during forecasting by selecting IB Diploma Workshop/IB Theory of Knowledge (TOK).  IB Diploma Workshop/IB Theory of Knowledge (TOK) is another requirement of the Diploma. Diploma Workshop is taken during the first semester of a student’s junior year and second semester of their senior year.  IB Theory of Knowledge (TOK) is taken second semester of their junior year and first semester of their senior year.


    Another requirement of the Diploma is Community, Activity, and Service (CAS).  CAS is completed over the two year Diploma programme. CAS allows for student learning and experiences outside of the classroom. It is an eighteen month commitment to explore creativity, activity and service. Seven areas of growth are documented through goal setting and reflection. Students will learn more about this IB requirement during Diploma Workshop.


    The final requirement of the Diploma is the Extended Essay (EE). Students work with an advisor and complete their EE at the end of the first semester senior year.  The EE is an independent, self-directed piece of research, finishing with a 4,000-word paper. The EE is mandatory for all students and provides practical preparation for undergraduate research as well as an opportunity for students to investigate a topic of special interest to them.  Students will learn more about this IB requirement during TOK.


    Students may receive up to one year of college credit and advanced standing based on their Diploma score.  Below are some examples of IB Diploma schedules at Lincoln:

    IB Plan 1


    IB plan 2


    IB plan 3


    IB plan 4


    IB plan 5