• Awards & Honors: Recognition for 2 Lincoln High publications, bond projects, PIL football stars, Sellwood counselor

    Español| Tiếng Việt| 中文| Русский| Soomaali

    Cardinal Times staff members (from left) Ella Mashroutechi, Luke Gladen-Kolarsky, Jack Forman, Sagarika Ramachandran, Rosie Crawford and Sydney Laxson.

    Two publications produced by Lincoln High School students earned awards at the recent Fall Media Day event hosted by the University of Oregon and Scholastic Press.

    The Cardinal Times was awarded first place in the “Best of Show” listing for high school newspapers. Entrants were asked to submit a copy of their best publication of the last 12 months, with issues judged on coverage, writing, visuals and layout. 

    The Cardinals Times’ winning edition was its April 2 issue that featured a story by Jamie Bikales, with additional reporting by Sagarika Ramachandran, headlined "Abused and Afraid." (Read the story)

    The issue also had two stories by Sage Taylor and stories by Scotty Martin, Gretchen Rudolph, Armand Yazdani, Oscar Harold, Jack Forman and Reese Nelson. Ramachandran serves as editor-in-chief of the Cardinal Times, and Mary Rechner is staff advisor.

    Another Lincoln publication, Beyond the Flock, placed third for high school magazines. Emily Hensley is the advisor for Beyond the Flock.

    Bond projects honored: Two major renovation projects financed by the 2012 bond have been recognized for design excellence. Roosevelt High School won a 2018 DeMuro Award, a statewide honor that recognizes extraordinary historic rehabilitation projects and compatible infill development. In addition, Roosevelt received an honorable mention in the Energy Trust of Oregon's High Performance Building Awards.

    Franklin High School took third place in the Top Projects in Education category of the Oregon Daily Journal of Commerce annual awards. Roosevelt and Faubion PK-8 School, which was also rebuilt as part of the 2012 bond, were also finalists in the category.

    Football awards: Lincoln and Roosevelt took the top awards on the all-Portland Interscholastic League football teams. Lincoln senior running back Nick Ostmo was voted the Offensive Player of the Year, and Roosevelt defensive lineman Tim Price Jr. was selected the Defensive Player of the Year by a ballot of coaches.

    Roosevelt's Tim Price and Lincoln's Jeremy Johnson were voted co-Coaches of the Year. See the full list of all-league selections.

    Sellwood counselor honored: Sellwood Middle School counselor Christy Wheeler has been selected as the Oregon School Counselor of the Year by the Oregon School Counselors Association. The honor is selected from school counseling programs in Oregon at the elementary, middle and high school levels.

    Wheeler will receive a $1,000 prize and will be in the running for the National School Counselor of the Year. OSCA will pay for her travel and registration to the American School Counselor Association national event that runs Jan. 30-Feb. 1 in Washington, D.C.