All-Star Awards Ceremony

  • Recognizing the achievements of PPS’s students of color

    Español | Tiếng Việt | 中文 | Русский | Soomaali

    At Portland Public Schools, our priority is to elevate student voice, and to focus our work on creating an inspired, equitable, and rigorous educational experience for every student. It is particularly important that we honor our students who represent racially diverse ethnic and cultural groups across the district and have excelled despite the systemic challenges they face every day.

    These students deserve recognition by both Portland Public Schools and those who have been instrumental in their success. Historically, we honored these students in distinct recognition ceremonies including Golden Minds, Si Se Puede, Young, Gifted, and Black, and Native American Honor Day. At each event, our diverse communities rallied around our students in acknowledgement of their academic success, resilience, commitment to their culture, and personal development.

    We are grateful for the work of our community to create customized recognition experiences for students that affirms their identities. This year we will build on those efforts and celebrate our collective achievements in an inclusive, single recognition ceremony that provides students with a distinguished experience while preserving the cultural elements that made each prior event unique. The evening will feature each student group, e.g., Golden Minds, New Portlanders, Si Se Puede, Take Flight Native Pride, and Young, Gifted, and Black, and will also be accompanied by student storytelling, performances, keynote addresses, and artifacts that represent our students’ diverse experiences. Our goal is to showcase a powerful display of support to increase visibility for our diverse students and admiration for their cultures.

  • 2020 All-Star Awards Ceremony Update

    Last year we launched our first Annual All-Star Awards Ceremony, Portland Public Schools’ premier recognition event for students of color. As we approach year two, we must be responsive to the global pandemic—Coronavirus/COVID 19.

    We regret to announce that we are unable to host the 2020 All-Star Awards Ceremony. With the uncertainty of our world, we recognize the importance of celebrations. We will continue to hold space for students of color virtually in both the short and long term. We look forward to celebrating in 2021!

    Stay tuned! Thank you!

    Comments (-1)

All-Star Awardees

  • API Scholars

  • New Portlanders

  • ¡Sí Se Puede!

  • Take Flight, Native Pride

  • Young Gifted and Black