Community Involvement and Public Affairs banner, containing a posed portrait of the staff of this department.

Communications and Public Engagement

Communications and Public Engagement

  • Mission: We tell the story of Portland Public Schools. We serve as the primary line of communication to our students, families, staff and communities. We take the lead on strategic and emergency communications, handle news media requests, and provide support to schools and the central office.

    Guided by the district’s commitment to equity, we translate our efforts into five languages. Our work reflects the scope of the most diverse and largest school district in Oregon.

  •  

    PPS Pulse

    PPS Pulse is our weekly electronic newsletter. We cover stories coming out of our schools and departments and showcase the great work of our students and staff. Pulse is sent to approximately 48,000 families and 7,000 staff.

    Contacts:
    Lindsay Trapp, Coordinator, ltrapp@pps.net
    Mike Tokito, Editor/Staff Writer, mtokito@pps.net

    Check out the PPS Pulse archive.

    Comments (-1)
  •  

    Community Engagement

    The Community Outreach team provides project management for planning, logistics, and execution of community meetings, as well as large and small events. We interact with all district departments and schools to provide accurate and easy-to-understand information, as well as create an online presence for projects as needed.

    Contacts:
    Rosie Fiallo, Community Engagement and Development Manager, rfiallo@pps.net
    Cameron Vaughan, Manager, Strategic Partner Outreach and Development, cameronvt@pps.net

    Comments (-1)
  •  

    Translation and Interpretation Services

    Translation and Interpretation Services (TIS) provides meaningful language access to Limited English Proficiency parents by offering translated printed and digital materials, qualified language interpreters, and effective outreach and engagement. TIS also supports district wide communications ensuring an equity lens is taken into account in its interactions with the public.

    Contact:
    Marifer Sager, Department Manager, msager@pps.net 

    Comments (-1)
  •  

    Graphics

    The graphics and web team creates graphic design for district departments and schools. We maintain the PPS home page and are responsible for the look and feel of the district’s web presence. We also help to support and train school and office staff in use of the web content management system. 

    Contact:
    Louise Tollisen, Graphic and Web Designer, ltollisen@pps.net

    Comments (-1)
  •  

    Multimedia Services

    The Multimedia Services team works with our schools, administrators and district programs to create and share informative and engaging videos highlighting positive stories throughout our district and community. The team is responsible for live-streaming and broadcasting important public meetings, posting videos to PPS social media sites and maintaining and programming the district’s cable channel, TV28.

    Contacts:
    Terry Proctor, Communications Manager/Multimedia, tproctor@pps.net
    Brian Robertson, Multimedia Producer, brobertson1@pps.net

    Comments (-1)
  •  

    Public Records

    The Public Records Officer responds to all requests for public records from members of the public and the media, and strives to provide records in a timely fashion. The Public Records Officer has the responsibility of meeting the district’s privacy obligations to students and staff and helping to promote transparency and a greater understanding of how the district carries out the public’s business. More information or request records.

    Contact:
    Ryan Vandehey, Public Records Officer, rvandehey@pps.net, (503) 916-3385 

    Comments (-1)
  •  

    Media Relations

    The media relations team responds to all requests for information and interviews by members of the local and national news media, including reporters from print, radio, television, and online news sources. We assist PPS staff who are contacted by reporters, and proactively inform media about the many positive stories happening throughout the District.

    Members of the news media with questions about the district should contact:

    Harry Esteve, (503) 916-3374, hesteve@pps.net

    Staff members should contact Harry if they receive direct media inquiries, and this contact is required if reporters want to visit a school.
    Comments (-1)

Contacts

Lindsay Trapp
Community Relations & Public Affairs Representative
(503) 916-3304
Stephanie Cameron
Senior Director, Communications & Public Engagement
(503) 916-3962
Harry Esteve
Director/Strategic Communications & Outreach
(503) 916-3374

We want your ideas

  • Please feel free to submit story suggestions, links to the best stories on your school web site or newsletter, photos, videos and other items you think would have district wide interest. Email story ideas, images and documents to: ltrapp@pps.net.