• What is the Parent Policy Council?

    The Parent Policy Council is a group of Head Start and Early Head Start parents and community members who help lead and make decisions about their program. Head Start has always viewed parents as critical partners in its work to educate their young children. We also understood that this partnership means parents should help decide which services would most benefit their families and be an intricate part of the decision-making process. As a result, Head Start created a formal leadership and policy-making role for parents and community members called the Policy Council.

    The Head Start Parent Policy Council is a committee made up of parents, guardians, and caregiver representatives from each classroom in the program. From the representatives, a Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer, and State Representative are elected, including alternates for each position. The Policy Council meets regularly as a group. They are involved in reviewing and approving our grant applications, creating goals for the program and serving as links to families & caregivers at each site. Policy Council Representatives will be elected at Elections and Orientation. Members can serve for one year at a time, and for up to five years.

    The Policy Council meets on the second Tuesday of the month at Sacajawea Head Start. The meeting starts at 5:30pm with child care and dinner. If parents want to participate in PC meetings, they should contact their FSW or Teacher. 

    More information from National Head Start here

    Meeting Dates for 2022-2023 School Year
    Location: Sacajawea Head Start, 4800 NE 74th Avenue, Portland

    Unless otherwise noted on the monthly agenda

    Saturday, October 15, 2022

    Tuesday, November 8, 2022

    Tuesday, December 13, 2022

    Tuesday, January 10, 2023

    Tuesday, February 14, 2023

    Tuesday, March 14, 2023

    Tuesday, April 11, 2023

    Tuesday, May 9, 2023

    Tuesday, June 13, 2023


    Policy Council Executive Officers for 2022-2023 School Year

    Chairperson: Gina Brunelle, Sacajawea

    Vice-Chairperson: Huynh Pool, Creston

    Secretary: Jessica Knittle, Whitman

    Asst. Secretary: Vanessa Bird, Applegate

    Treasurer: Maribel Aguilar, Jason Lee

    State Representative: Anthea Zeltzman

    State Representative: Jamila Myrick, Clarendon

    Community Representative: Kim Richards, former parent at Clarendon